Thenmerku Paruvakaatru poster

Thenmerku Paruvakaatru

  • 24 Dec 2010
  • 2h 5m
  • Action, Family
300+ users

Thenmerku Paruvakatru is a 2010 Tamil drama film written and directed by Seenu Ramasamy and produced by Shibu Issac. It stars Saranya Ponvannan in her 100th film, along with Vijay Sethupathi and Vasundhara Kashyap in the lead roles. The music was composed by N. R. Raghunanthan with cinematography by Chezhiyan and editing by Mu. Kasivishwanathan. The film released on 24 December 2010.

The film received mixed reviews, but was eventually featured at the 58th National Film Awards ceremony, where it was named the Best Feature Film in Tamil while Saranya Ponvannan and lyricist Vairamuthu were awarded the Best Actress and Best Lyricist prizes, respectively.





  • Status Released
  • Release date 24 Dec 2010
  • Running time 2h 5m
  • Genres Action, Family


National Film Awards - 2010
Best Feature Film
National Film Awards - 2010
Saranya Ponvannan
Best Actress
National Film Awards - 2010
Song: Kallikkaattil Perandha Thaayae
Best Lyricist
Ananda Vikatan Cinema Awards - 2011
Vijay Sethupathi
Best Debut Actor


Set in the backdrop of Theni, the story is about Murugaiyan (aka Murugan), who is a goatherd. He has a loving mother, Veerayi, who is a widow. She struggles hard to raise Murugan but has an overflowing affection for him. Meanwhile, there is a gang which attacks the villagers at night and steals their goats. Murugan, along with his group, manages to catch one of the members in an attack and discovers that it is a girl. Her name is Pechi, and her family steals goats for their livelihood. While Murugan develops feelings for her, Pechi's family is known to be quite dangerous. Veerayi learns of this and asked Murugan to marry a girl of her choice. He refuses to accept her wish. However, complications arise between them. An old lady of her house tells Veerayi to let her son marry the girl whom he loves. A possessive widow tells how her husband was killed to that old lady. Her husband was killed by a group of thieves. The head of the gang is none other than the father of the girl whom her son loves.


No review available.

Write review