Director, Screenwriter, Producer, Actor
Birth name
Chinnasaamy Periyamayathevar
Date of birth
Place of birth
Theni Allinagaram, Madura, India
National Film Awards - 2001
Kadal Pookkal
Best Screenplay Writer
K. R.

Director, Producer, Distributor, Exhibitor, Media personality

R. S. Durai Senthilkumar

Director, Screenwriter

N. Lingusamy

Director, Screenwriter, Producer

Balaji Mohan

Director, Screenwriter, Actor



K. Natraj

Director, Actor, Screenwriter

Bharathiraja is an Indian film director and actor who works mainly in the Tamil film industry. Making his debut in 1977 with 16 Vayathinile, he is known for realistic and sensitive portrayals of rural life in his films. As of 2017, he has won six National Film Awards, four Filmfare Awards South, two Tamil Nadu State Film Awards and a Nandi Award. He has also directed films in Telugu and Hindi. The Government of India honoured him with the Padma Shri award, India's fourth-highest civilian honour, in 2004 for his contribution to the film industry. In 2005, he was conferred with the Doctor of Letters (honorary degree) from Sathyabama University.

Known For



Year Title Credit
2024 Maharaja Actor
2024 Kalvan Actor
2023 Margazhi Thingal Actor
2023 Karumegangal Kalaigindrana Actor
2023 Thiruvin Kural Actor
2022 Kuttram Kuttrame Actor
2021 Rocky Actor
2021 Eeswaran Actor
2020 Meendum Oru Mariyathai Director, Actor, Producer
2019 Kennedy Club Actor
2018 Padaiveeran Actor
2017 Kurangu Bommai Actor
2013 Pandianadu Actor
2013 Annakodi Director
2010 Rettaisuzhi Actor
2008 Bommalattam Director
2004 Kangalal Kaidhu Sei Director
2003 Eera Nilam Director
2001 Kadal Pookkal Director
1999 Taj Mahal Director
1996 Anthimanthaarai Director
1995 Pasumpon Director
1994 Karuththamma Screenplay Writer, Director, Producer
1993 Kizhakku Cheemayile Director
1993 Captain Magal Director, Producer, Screenplay Writer
1992 Nadodi Thendral Director, Producer, Screenplay Writer
1991 Pudhu Nellu Pudhu Naathu Screenplay Writer, Director
1990 En Uyir Thozhan Writer, Director
1988 Kodi Parakuthu Producer, Screenplay Writer, Director
1987 Vedham Pudhithu Screenplay Writer, Director
1986 Kadalora Kavithaigal Director, Screenplay Writer
1985 Muthal Mariyathai Director, Producer, Screenplay Writer
1985 Oru Kaidhiyin Diary Director, Screenplay Writer
1983 Mann Vasanai Screenplay Writer, Director
1982 Valibamey Vaa Vaa Screenplay Writer, Director
1982 Kaadhal Oviyam Director, Screenplay Writer
1981 Tik Tik Tik Director, Story Writer, Screenplay Writer
1981 Alaigal Oivathillai Director, Screenplay Writer
1980 Nizhalgal Screenplay Writer, Director
1980 Kallukkul Eeram Screenplay Writer, Actor
1979 Niram Maaratha Pookkal Screenplay Writer, Director
1979 Puthiya Vaarpugal Screenplay Writer, Director, Producer
1978 Sigappu Rojakkal Director, Writer
1978 Kizhake Pogum Rail Director
1977 16 Vayathinile Director, Writer
1984 Pudhumai Penn Screenplay Writer, Director