Ayan poster


  • 03 Apr 2009
  • 2h 42m
  • Action, Crime, Drama, Thriller
12K+ users

Ayan is a 2009 Indian Tamil action film co-written and directed by K. V. Anand. The film, starring Suriya, Prabhu, Tamannaah and Akashdeep Saighal in lead roles, was produced by M. Saravanan and M. S. Guhan, distributed by Sun Pictures. The film score was composed by Harris Jayaraj, the soundtrack released on 19 January 2009. Edited by Anthony Gonsalvez, the film was filmed by M. S. Prabhu.





  • Status Released
  • Release date 03 Apr 2009
  • Running time 2h 42m
  • Genres Action, Crime, Drama, Thriller


Ananda Vikatan Cinema Awards - 2009
Harris Jayaraj
Best Music Director
Ananda Vikatan Cinema Awards - 2009
Nalini Sriram
Best Costume Designer


Deva is a post-graduate Computer Science student in Chennai, who works with Dass by smuggling pre-release unlicensed movies on DVD and other small contrabands mainly through the air. Deva's widowed mother Kaveri does not appreciate his choice of career. Their former business associate Nemichand Seth's son Kamalesh tries to foil their Diwali film piracy operations, as a means of taking over that smuggling deal for himself through police-backed channels. After the raid on their hideout orchestrated by Kamalesh, Dass is offered a deal by the inspector that one of his men should take the blame for the crimes. Deva attempts to do so, but another man, Chitti Babu, who had no affiliation with the gang, takes the blame.

Later, Chitti joins Dass's group and befriends Deva, and Deva completes his education. Chitti and Deva run a variety of smuggling jobs for Dass for months, often on international routes. Chitti learns of all the means and modes of operations. Meanwhile. Deva meets Chitti's younger sister Yamuna inadvertently, and they soon fall in love. On Deva's birthday, he and Chitti smuggle out gold bars worth $150 million from a tanked ship in Chennai port. When Dass learns of Deva's birthday, he gives him the day off to enjoy, while the others will trade the gold. Deva is called for a temple worship by his mother where trouble ensues when he learns that, in the midst of a major smuggling operation, the customs authorities have been tipped off to the hideout, but the others have narrowly escaped with the goods. He finds out that Chitti has been working for Kamalesh all this while.

Chitti goes on to work as a drug mule for Kamalesh, ingesting heroin capsules and transporting them to Malaysia. He meets Deva on the flight. While disembarking, Chitti falls ill and Deva fends off Kamalesh's gang to help Chitti even though they were estranged. Chitti confesses that although he worked for Kamalesh, his friendship with Deva was genuine. In a tragic turn of events, Chitti is kidnapped by Kamalesh's gang before Deva can save him, and they cut him up to recover the drugs. Deva fends off the thugs and tries to save Chitti. In his final moments, Chitti requests Deva to burn him so that his family never learn of his death. Deva burns Chitti, along with the drugs and returns to India with Chitti's belongings, but Kamalesh tips off the authorities about Chitti's death, and Yamuna herself files a case against Deva.

However, Yamuna finds Chitti's phone, in which Chitti had recorded the circumstances of his death. Deva is let off, and Yamuna reunites with him. Deva plans to stay away from the smuggling business for a while, but Kamalesh has his people plant drugs at the airport and blames it on Deva where he tips off the customs officer Parthiban. Deva, in turn informs Parthiban about the drug mules working for Kamalesh in exchange for his freedom. Deva works with Parthiban to monitor Kamalesh's calls with his clients, busting many illegal consignments. Kamalesh eventually discovers the bug and tries to eliminate Deva and Parthiban. However, they both escape and secure a massive cocaine shipment from Kamalesh. Despite this, they trace the shipment to Kamalesh's accountant, who agrees to become a witness.

Kamalesh has the accountant killed before the court hearing and is let off for lack of evidence. Kamalesh tries to kill Deva and his mother, but they have a narrow escape. He then plans a hit on Dass and Deva to take control of their diamond smuggling operation. Dass saves Deva but is killed in the process. Deva heads to Congo where he kills Kamalesh and retrieves the diamonds. When he returns to India, Parthiban searches him again, admitting that Deva's mother had exposed him to get Deva out of his illegal activities. Deva surrenders the diamonds, and Parthiban reveals that he can now enlist Deva to work as a customs official. Deva accepts the job and walks out with his mother and Yamuna.


No review available.

Write review