Aambala poster


  • 14 Jan 2015
  • 2h 26m
  • Action, Comedy
1K+ users

Aambala is a 2015 Indian Tamil action comedy film co-written, co-produced and directed by Sundar C. Produced by Vishal, it features him in the leading role alongside an ensemble cast including Prabhu, Hansika Motwani, Ramya Krishnan, Santhanam, Sathish, Vaibhav Reddy, Kiran Rathod, Aishwarya, Maadhavi Latha, and Madhuurima. The music was composed by Hiphop Tamizha.




  • Status Released
  • Release date 14 Jan 2015
  • Running time 2h 26m
  • Genres Action, Comedy


Vishal, Hansika Motwani, Prabhu, Santhanam, Vaibhav Reddy, Sathish, Ramya Krishnan, Aishwarya, Kiran, Pradeep Rawat, Sriman

Saravanan (Vishal) lives in Ooty, and runs a business of gathering people for politicians and events. One day, he meets Maya (Hansika Motwani), and falls for her. However, "RDX" Rajasekhar (Santhanam) also falls in love with her. Saravanan convinces Rajasekhar to not fall for Maya by saying she's too high class. Rajasekhar is a police inspector. Due to several mishaps caused, he is fired and starts working as a hotel doorman. He is shocked to find Saravanan and Maya going out together. He asks Saravanan how he made Maya fall in love with him. As Saravanan finishes his story, it is revealed Saravanan indirectly caused those mishaps that led to Rajasekhar's firing. Enraged, Rajasekhar hires Kumaran (Vaibhav), who is a specialist in breakups. Kumaran then sends a woman (Andrea Jeremiah) to cause a conflict in Saravanan and Maya's relationship.

Due to his love failure, Saravanan becomes drunk and falls unconscious. Kumaran, who is also at the bar, drops Saravanan off at his house. Saravanan's mother Thulasi (Tulasi), ashamed of his behaviour, sends him to meet his father Aalavanthan (Prabhu) and younger brother Shakthi (Sathish) at Madurai. There, they meet Aalavanthan and rejoin him. They come to know that Kumaran is also the son of Aalavanthan's ex-lover.

Aalavanthan reveals to his sons that they have three aunts: Periya Ponnu (Ramya Krishnan), Nadu Ponnu (Aishwarya), and Chinna Ponnu (Kiran Rathod). Aalavanthan wants his sons to marry the daughters of their aunts so that their families can reunite once and for all. A reluctant Saravanan helps his brothers and father attend a temple function in disguise to kidnap and marry their cousins, but they kidnap their aunts. They run away before getting caught. Saravanan agrees to the plan after finding out that Periya Ponnu's daughter is none other than Maya.

Periya Ponnu believes the kidnapping was by Pasupathy (Pradeep Rawat), the MLA and ex-servant of Aalavanthan's family. Periya Ponnu decides to run against him in the next election. Pasupathy sends men to kill the aunts, but the brothers save them, disguised as police officers. Using this disguise, the trio gains access to their aunts' house. There, their uncles (Abhishek, Sriman, Gowtham Sundararajan) help facilitate the brothers' affection to their daughters. The trio succeeds in gaining the daughters' love.

Pasupathy provokes Periya Ponnu by wagering that if he loses to her, he will work at her home as a servant, but if she loses, her daughter Maya will marry his son (Rajeev Govinda Pillai). Using his knowledge of politics, Saravanan helps his aunt gain popularity. However, a few days before the elections, the aunts find out that Saravanan's father is their brother Aalavanthan, who they believe killed their father. Their hatred towards Aalavanthan results in them getting Saravanan and his brothers arrested.

Aalavanthan is hurt by his sisters' harsh words at him. He suffers a heart attack and is hospitalised. As Saravanan and his brothers are stuck in jail, his aunt has lost her popularity, due to Pasupathy's manipulation. Saravanan calls Rajasekhar, who bails out the brothers, and inadvertently exposes Pasupathy's dirty tricks. Refusing to lose, Pasupathy tries to bribe people to vote for him, but Saravanan and Kumaran foil his plan, giving Periya Ponnu the edge. Pasupathy arrives at the home to kill the family and take Maya, but Maya already escaped to elope with Saravanan. Saravanan, though, insists they go back. A furious Pasupathy reveals that he was the one who killed Aalavanthan's father, not Aalavanthan. He attacks Periya Ponnu just as Maya and Saravanan return. Saravanan fights Pasupathy and his son. At last, when Pasupathy goes to get his men, he finds that all the men assembled were the gang members of Saravanan, which definitely defeating him. The family reunites, and celebrate the weddings of all three brothers to their cousins.

No review available.

Write review